Top 10 College Football Teams in 2021 !

College football is not only a recreation source for Americans but has become a part of their lifestyle. Spectators come to watch football games to encourage and promote their favorite teams, coaches, and players. Appreciating the sport is a tremendous manner to make new friends and demonstrate your passion for college. Let’s take a look at some winning college football teams of 2020-2021. Here we present the order of the top 10 teams:

10. Northwestern Wildcats

First Season: 1876
Previous Rank: #15
Record: 7-2
Points: 893
Streak: W1
Conference: Big Ten
Coach: Pat Fitzgerald

Northwestern University is represented by the Northwestern Wildcats football team as part of the NCAA Division I college football team and the Big Ten Conference. The United States Northwestern football team was established in 1876, and the Chicago Tribune reporter named it after reporting the game in 1924, where participants were seen as a wall of purple wildcats. Northwestern Football Wildcat is also recognized as Chicago’s Big Ten Team. Ryan Field, formerly called Dyche Stadium, has been used to play their home games since 1926 by the Wildcats. The current head coach of this team is Pat Fitzgerald.

Northwestern Wildcats Football

9. Iowa State Cyclones

First Season:  1892
Previous Rank: #12
Record: 9-3
Points: 1035
Streak: W1
Conference: Big 12
Coach: Matt Campbell

The Iowa State University football team is known as the Iowa State Cyclones, whose present coach is Matt Campbell. Jack Trice stadium used by cyclones to play their home games. 2020 is one of the fortunate years for Matt in the Cyclones’ record. Cyclones were rated the highest CFP and also ranked six in the College Football Playoff rankings at the Big 12 championship. In 2020, Breece Hall placed in the sixth position at Heisman’s Trophy voting. This American team secured their spot at the Big 12 championship game for the first time.

Iowa State Cyclones Football

8. Cincinnati Bearcats

First Season: 1924
Previous Rank: #6
Record: 9-1
Points: 1074
Streak: L1
Conference: SEC
Coach: Luke Fickell

The Cincinnati Bearcats football team represents Cincinnati University, in the NCAA Tournament. From 1924, Cincinnati home games were played by Bearcats in Nippert Stadium. This football team is one of the former teams in the United States, having been founded in early 1885. Bearcats played Miami in 1888 at the first intercollegiate football tournament planned in Ohio State. It was recorded as the eighth oldest and 11th longest-running in NCAA Division I. The current coach Luke Fickell gave back an NY6 bowl to the Bearcats but lost the Peach bowl game from Georgia.

Cincinnati Bearcats Football

7. Georgia Bulldogs

First Season: 1892
Previous Rank: #11
Record: 8-2
Points: 1144
Streak: W4
Conference: American Athletic
Coach: Kirby Smart

The University of Georgia football team is named the Georgia Bulldogs football team, introduced in 1892 and represented in the NACC Football Bowl Subdivision and SEC. At Sanford Stadium, their home games are held. They achieved victory at the 15 Conference championships. This US team is regarded as a Bulldog nation for its past, extraordinary traditions, and crazy fan base. Georgia has gained a victory in more than 800 leagues in its record. Georgia’s 26th coach is Kirby Smart, who managed this team from 2016. This team has mainly three competitors: Auburn, Florida, and Georgia Tech.

Georgia Bulldogs Football

6. Oklahoma Sooners

First Season: 1895 
Previous Rank: #8
Record: 9-2
Points: 1243
Streak: W8
Conference: Big 12
Coach: Lincoln Riley

The Oklahoma Sooners football team is a part of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision and Big 12 Conference and plays for the University of Oklahoma. In 1895, this American team started and became one of the best teams with maximum victories and the highest winning streak. Sooner home stadium for playing games is Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium also named The Palace on the Prairie.

Oklahoma Sooners Football

5. Notre Dame Fighting Irish

First Season: 1887
Previous Rank: #4
Record: 10-2
Points: 1279
Streak: L2
Conference: ACC
Coach: Brian Kelly 

The intercollegiate Notre Dame Fighting Irish football team is playing for the US University, Notre Dame. Its home games are played at Notre Dame Stadium. Notre Dame is one of six colleges that participate as an independent team in the NCAA. Except for ice hockey, Notre Dame is a member in all other sports and plays five games in a year against Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) opponents. In 2020, ACC temporarily added Notre Dame only for this year. This college has achieved success 22 times as National Championship from NCAA, and Notre Dame players received seven times the Trophy of Heisman.   

Notre Dame Fighting Irish Football

4. Texas A&M Aggies

First Season: 1894
Previous Rank: #5
Record: 9-1
Points: 1324
Streak: W8
Conference: SEC
Coach: Jimbo Fisher

The Texas A&M Aggies team has played American football for Texas A&M University since 1894. This Aggies team held all home games at Kyle Field. The Texas A&M team is managed under the guidance of current coach Jimbo Fisher. 

Texas A&M Aggies Football

3. Clemson Tigers

First Season: 1896
Previous Rank: #2
Record: 10-2
Points: 1378
Streak: L1
Conference: ACC
Coach: Dabo Swinney

The Clemson Tigers football team was formed as the American football team of Clemson University in 1896. The Tigers’ team is rated one of the most elite college football in the US. During Covid-19, thirty-seven Clemson Tigers players tested positive. Clemson Tigers reached the college football playoff finals in 2015, 2016, 2018, and 2019 and won the 2016 and 2018 championship game by defeating Alabama.

Clemson Tigers Football

2. Ohio State Buckeyes

First Season: 1890
Previous Rank: #3
Record: 7-1
Points: 1463
Streak: L1
Conference: Big Ten
Coach: Ryan Day

This United States team has played football for Ohio State University since 1890. Buckeye held their home games at Ohio Stadium. This team got eight national championships as well 39 Big Ten crowns. The Buckeyes won the sugar bowl after defeating Clemson 49–28 in January 2021.

1. Alabama Crimson Tide

First Season: 1892
Previous Rank: #1
Record: 13-0
Points: 1525
Streak: W13
Conference: SEC
Coach: Nick Saban

In 1892, WG Little started the first football team, The Crimson White, at the University of Alabama, US and played the first match in Birmingham. The team received national recognition from 1922 when it won 9–7 against the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. The sport was played in a red mud sea that stained Alabama’s white jersey. Former Birmingham Age-Herald sports editor, Hugh Roberts, named the Alabama football team the Crimson Tide in his article. In 2020, DeVonta Smith received Alabama’s Heisman Trophy along with two more winners, Mac Jones and Najee Harris. Nick Saban was the coach of the 2020 Alabama Crimson Tide team.

Alabama Crimson Tide Football

Sophia Wadke
I am Shopia, a movie enthusiastic and I read lot of books, mostly of science fiction, thrillers and biography. Content writing is just my profession but my passion too.

Related Articles

Latest Articles